Commemorative Postage stamp to be released on February 27 to mark the centenary year of AIRF.

New Delhi. 26 February 2024- A postal stamp will be issued by the Government of India on 27 February 2024 on the occasion of the centenary year of All India Railway Men’s Federation (AIRF). This was announced by the General Secretary of All India Railway Men’s Federation (AIRF), Shri Shiv Gopal Mishra at a press conference in New Delhi. He said that it is a matter of great pride that AIRF is celebrating its “centenary year”. All India Railwaymen’s Federation (AIRF) was established on 24 April 1924. The federation is completing its 100 years on 24th April this year.

Union Minister of Railways, Communications and Information Technology (IT), Government of India, Shri Ashwini Vaishnav ji will be releasing the commemorative postage stamp on February 27 at the Karnail Singh Railway Stadium, Basant Road, New Delhi.
The 100 years long journey of All India Railwaymen’s Federation (AIRF) has been full of struggles. Mr. Rai Saheb Chandrika Prasad, Mr. Mukand Lal Sarkar Mr. N.M. Joshi, Mr. V.V. Giri, Mr. I.B. Sen, Mr. Jamuna Das Mehta, Mr. V.V. Giri, Mr. S. Guruswami, Mr. Peter Alwaris, Mr. Jayaprakash Narayan, Professor Madhu Dandwate. Great leaders like Mr. George Fernandes, Mr. Priya Gupta, Mr. J.P. Chabe, Mr. Umrao Mal Purohit, Mr. Rakhal Das Gupta have successfully led AIRF while holding the post of President and General Secretary.
The historic strikes of 1960, 1968 and 1974 took place under the leadership of AIRF. Which was successfully led by great leaders of AIRF. In the year 1974, a massive indefinite strike of railway employees was also led by AIRF, which shook the then Prime Minister of the country, Mrs. Indira Gandhi. While the history of All India Railwaymen’s Federation is full of controversies, its achievements are also no less. Ban on retrenchment of railway employees, salary redetermination, dearness allowance, bonus, promotions etc. are some of the facilities achieved due to the struggle of All India Railwaymen’s Federation.

No Comments:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

National News


More News