Key poll battle all set to begin, voting on 102 LS seats on Friday

New Delhi, April 18 (UNI) A high-stake political battle is set to kick off on Friday with as many as 102 parliamentary constituencies across 21 states and union territories (UTs) going to the hustings in the first of the seven phase Indian general election. Along with parliamentary seats, 92 assembly constituencies in Arunachal and Sikkim will
also see voting on April 19. While BJP has planned its campaign around ‘Modi ki Guarantee’ largely focussing on policy continuity, the principal opposition Congress has launched ‘Nyay Patra’ to promise jobs and
cash transfers to voters. In its election manifesto, BJP has also promised to bring the Uniform Civil Code (UCC) and implement the principle of ‘One Nation One Election.’ The electoral fight this time is primarily between two political groupings — BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) and the Congress-headed Indian National Developmental Inclusive Alliance (INDIA). Spearheading the political campaign for BJP, Prime Minister Narendra Modi has been attacking the opposition over alleged corruption, dynasty politics and issues of governance. On the other hand, opposition parties have accused the government of misusing central agencies such as the Enforcement Directorate (ED), CBI and Income Tax (I-T) department besides cornering PM Modi over the electoral bond ‘scam’. An electoral win for BJP would mean PM Modi hitting a hat-trick. Defeat for the opposition could further bring their morale down. Many of the pre-poll surveys have predicted victory for the saffron party but on several occasions in he past pollsters have been proved wrong too. The counting of votes after the conclusion of the seven-phase election would take place on June 4. The states and UTs included in Phase 1 election are Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar,
Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, West Bengal, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Jammu and Kashmir, Lakshadweep and Puducherry. Some of the prominent politicians whose fate would be decided in the first phase of
Parliamentary election include Nitin Gadkari (BJP), Jitin Prasada (BJP), K Annamalai (BJP), Tamilisai  ARSoundararajan (BJP), Karti Chidambaram (Congress), Nakul Nath (Congress) and Arjun Ram Meghwal.

No Comments:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

National News


More News